Adventures in Crocheting: A Beginner’s Tale

I have no idea what I’m doing and that’s OK.

Adrienne Pelz
3 min readJan 31, 2022

Earlier this month I wrote about wanting to learn how to crochet in an effort to grow closer to the memories of my sister and grandmother. This isn’t a hobby I am undertaking lightly, and I suspect I will spend many hours swearing and screaming at yarn. I’m sure it will be a learning experience for me.

My gifting is with words, computers, and tomatoes (in that order). Not yarn (or music, math, physics, or building anything, but that’s neither here nor there). Yarn? I don’t know how this is going to turn out- but I’m invested now!

One $90+ trip to a Michaels craft store later, and I currently have 4 yarn bundles (cakes, I believe), plus 2 skeins from my sister’s leftover collection. I also have a glut of hooks, a couple of patterns bookmarked, and am searching for some good YouTube tutorials.

To be blunt: I have no idea what I’m doing and it shows.

Send help. Or cheese.

Apparently, I want to make fuzzy blankets, if my current choices in yarn and Google searches are indicators. And a wool scarf for my patient boyfriend, who stalked around Michaels with me in search of crochet hooks. And a fuzzy scarf with yarn that could be used for blankets, if I wanted to buy 6 more bundles of it.

I did not realize how much yarn those items would take. Or how what size hooks. Or stitch types. Or how counting stitches makes all…

--

--

Adrienne Pelz

Tech professional by day, writer by night. Love, poetry, practical life management, and fiction. And, sometimes, a little bit of humor.